Google Chrome gives you the option to reset your browser settings in one easy click. In some cases, programs that you install can change your Chrome settings without your knowledge. You may see additional extensions and toolbars or a different search engine. Resetting your browser settings will reset the unwanted changes caused by installing other programs. However, your saved bookmarks and passwords will not be cleared or changed.
There are also instances that programs you have installed can change settings on the browser without your knowledge. In such instances, you may see unwanted extension, toolbars, or unknown search engine occupying the home page. Resetting Google Chrome will restore the browser to its freshly installed state, erasing all changes made by adware. Several options are provided to restore Google Chrome to its default state. There is no harm in trying all the choices, however, for quick and hassle free procedure, we recommend just downloading and running Google Chrome’s Software Removal Tool. If the tool didn’t work or is not compatible with your version of Google Chrome, you can use the other method.
Reset your Chrome browser settings
- In the top-right corner of the browser window, click the Chrome menu
- Select Settings.
- At the bottom, click Show advanced settings.
- Under the section “Reset settings,” click Reset settings.
- In the dialog that appears, click Reset.
Settings that change
- Default search engine and saved search engines will be reset and to their original defaults.
- Extensions and themes will be disabled.
- Homepage button will be hidden and the URL that you previously set will be removed.
- Default startup tabs will be cleared.
- Pinned tabs will be unpinned.
- Content settings will be cleared and reset to their installation defaults.
- Cookies and site data will be cleared.
- New Tab page will be empty unless you have a version of Chrome with an extension that controls it.